Me Before You

mby

So I may be a little late to the game when it comes to writing a review for this wonderful book, but I promise you I read it months before the movie came out. If that helps my case in any possible way. Also, in all fairness, had I had a blog, I’m sure I would have written a review as soon as I had finished reading it.

18552790

DO NOT READ THIS BOOK IF YOU DON’T WANT TO UGLY CRY. YOU WILL UGLY CRY. Sounds a little more menacing in capitals than I meant it to, but I’m leaving the warning there.

A few months ago I was scrolling through Pinterest looking for “Books that are guaranteed to make you cry”, because I love to cry. Obviously not the feel-sorry-about-myself-depressed kind of crying, but any book, TV show episode and movie that makes me cry, will quickly rise to the top of my Favorites list. There’s nothing wrong with me, I promise… Ok well I can’t actually promise that because I’m almost positive there is something wrong with me, but it has nothing to do with liking a good story that hits me in the feels. And boy oh boy did this book ever do that. **SPOILER ALERT** I was crying my way through this book, especially at the end when Will dies. You see, for about 3/4’s of the book I had convinced myself that Lou would change Will’s mind, that he wouldn’t go through with it. He was going to get together with Lou, and here is where I got really hopeful and only slightly unrealistic in thinking that there would be an epilogue a few years in the future, in which there had been some groundbreaking medical discovery concerning paraplegics and Will was once again able to walk. Do you really blame a girl for wanting a happily-ever-after?? OBVIOUSLY that didn’t happen. But I also wasn’t too distraught about it, because it was realistic. That is what would happen in real life. The letter from Will to Lou was definitely something I was glad to have. Needless to say, I gobbled this book up in one sitting, which is not an uncommon thing for me to do when I find a book that manages to trap me in the story. Meals, showers, proper clothes and any human interaction were skipped that day because had I even wanted to,  I wouldn’t have been able to tear my eyes off the pages (read, screen). Yes, my iPad came with me when I had to use the bathroom, you can’t judge. You know you’ve done it too.  Despite the situation though, the characters still maintained a great sense of humor, and it kept me laughing continuously through the book. I rate this book 5/5 and definitely on the list to re-read in the future, once my heart has put itself back together. It’s all still a little too fresh. And then I will also read the sequel. Let’s just go ahead and add her other books to the TBR pile as well.

A quick note about the movie adaptation. Absolutely perfectly picked actors for the roles. They were brilliant and had amazing on-screen chemistry. You go Glen Coco.

Leave a Reply

