After You

9780525426592-1

I sat down the other day. And read a book. It was about damn time too, I’ve only been on vacation for 11 out of the 14 days…

So I thought since I enjoyed Me Before You, the best thing to read should be the next book. And boy did it not disappoint. I do have to say tho, I didn’t know what to expect out of this book. I didn’t necessarily want it to be all about a new love she’s found but then I didn’t know what else it could be about. Well let me tell you, Jojo surprised me with this. **SPOILER ALERT** But a long lost daughter of a dead paraplegic?? Never would have guessed. And I have to admit, I didn’t love Lily’s character… until the very end when we find out why she is the way she is. Which actually made me a little sad and made me feel guilty for not liking her all along, like she said people never did. But props to Jojo because it was a very clever story and there was indeed a new love interest for Lou. Ambulance Sam. And he is just perfect, in my opinion. Although I almost wanted to throw the book (aka my iPad) across the room when Sam got shot.. I was like “Wtf Jojo!? You can’t kill both the guys Lou opens up to!!” it was a very stressful time for me.

En fin. Loved it. It didn’t disappoint in any way and I am actually pretty pleased with the ending. Lou gets to go do her own thing, something she owed herself, and Will.

And to try something new here, I’m going to share a few of my favorite quotes from the book 🙂

“That family had gone from being my whole life to a ghastly remnant of a time I wouldn’t allow myself to remember”

This one destroyed me. “And what if meeting her would actually have changed his mind? What if that would have been the thing that convinced him” BECAUSE IT IS SO TRUE! WILL MIGHT STILL BE ALIVE HAD HE ONLY KNOWN! UUUGGHHH

“Depression can be very hard. And not just on the sufferer.” So. True.

“I have the social skills of a lamppost.” Because, yes. That’s me. Don’t put me in social situations. Just don’t do it.

“I saw that I could be somebody’s centre, their reason for staying. I saw that I could be enough.” This one just hit right in the feels. Especially because it really affected her that she wasn’t reason enough for Will to stay and then here’s a man that thinks she is and she deserves that. The. Feels.

And the final highlighted quote. “With that kiss, I tried to tell him the enormity of what he meant to me. I tried to show him that he was the answer to a question I hadn’t even known I had been asking. I tried to thank him for wanting me to be me, more than he wanted to make me stay. In truth, I probably just told him I’d drunk two large coffees without brushing my teeth.”

Thank you Jojo Moyes for these wonderful books and the wonderful character that is Lou.

Leave a Reply

