When it Rains…

17833493

When it Rains by Lisa De Jong

Guys. The time has finally come. This is about to be my least favorite blog post so far, because it is my first negative one.

With a 4.29 star rating on Goodreads,and also because it was on my guaranteed-to-make-you-cry list, I went into this with high expectations. After skimming some of the reviews on Goodreads and seeing that an overwhelming majority of them start with “cried my way through this book” or some variation of that sentence, you can imagine how excited I was to read this. Needless to say, I did not need a box full of Kleenex. The Kleenex I needed was probably limited to two. 

My secret is: I feel like I’m the only one out there that didn’t enjoy this book. I’m sorry to all those who loved it. The actual plot was pretty good. Kate has a big secret that has actually made her pull away from her friends and family, because she can’t bring herself to share it. Until Asher rolls into town with a secret of his own and they connect because of it. Slowly forcing her to rediscover herself and become who she used to be before. Sounds pretty good right??

This was the first book by Lisa De Jong that I’ve read, so I don’t know her usual writing style. But I have to say, I was thoroughly disappointed with the writing of this book. There were many times when I found myself shaking my head at sentences I read, thinking them to be unnatural scenes or I didn’t see people actually saying things like that. (I will probably get a lot of negative feedback on this post… actually, who am I kidding? I have like 8 followers and one of them is myself… But to my other 7 followers, please don’t leave me because of this.)

I will say that I did enjoy both the relationship between Asher and Kate and Beau and Kate. I think all those characters were very well developed. If I had any complaints about any of the actual formation of the characters, it would be that I actually very much dislike the name Beau.

I didn’t dislike the book enough to not finish it, but I also didn’t like it enough to feel the need to read the sequel. As far as the ending of this book goes, I feel like I can just leave the story there and not be wondering what’s going to happen to the characters, it actually leaves off very well, without any cliffhangers that force you to read the next book or die wondering what’s going to happen. But having said that!! I did not like how Kate treated Beau for the duration of this book. Especially at the end when, after ignoring him for months, she decides that she can’t live without him and that he’s the love of her life… WTH? That just isn’t right.

En fin. I don’t know if I will be reading any of her other books, from what I see they’re also highly rated, but my trust in Goodreads ratings has taken a little bit of a drop… So I don’t know yet. If you guys agree with me, or know of any of her books that you absolutely loved, feel free to share them with me. I don’t like disliking an author, so I would really like to like her!!

A couple quotes I did like from the book..

“It should never be okay for someone to spend more time crying than they do smiling”

“Everyone without a smile has a reason for it”

Leave a Reply

