The Husband’s Secret

thehusbandssecret1w

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

Wow. Liane. Quickly climbing to the top of my list of favorite authors. Don’t worry Colleen, your spot in first place is safe, but Liane is quickly making her way to second place. The first book of hers I read was Big Little Lies and I loved it, so I decided to try another one of her books. Hence The Husband’s Secret. 

One of the things I really like about the way she writes is the multiple points of view that she writes from. Although sometimes she definitely uses that to her advantage when she gets to the climax of a certain person’s story and then suddenly it’s the end of the chapter and she’s moved on to a different character and you find yourself thinking about just skipping ahead to the next chapter corresponding to that character… I may or may not have done just so on one occasion. But it’s not really a big deal, right?? I went back to read the other chapters right after… 🙂

**SPOILER ALERT**

Ok. So getting into the actual storyline. Brilliant. I love the twists and turns of the story. The person that’s actually guilty is someone you’d never even suspect. The character’s were all brilliantly developed, in my opinion. I love Tess and Cecilia. I was kind of hoping that Tess would dump that husband of hers so that she could finally get together with Connor, but that might just be me because I love me a good ol’ forbidden love. Except for Will and Felicity’s forbidden love,  that was just wrong of them on so many levels.. not that they actually really did anything, but still.

I love Cecilia because she just seems like the perfect Stepford wife. She is the perfect mom, she gets involved with her children’s school, she’s the definition of a soccer mom. Although she’s also a working mom. And then when she falls apart after finding out Jean-Paul’s secret… god I must say I was actually really glad she decided to tell Rachel the truth. Especially after Rachel tried to run over Connor because all this time she thought he was guilty of the crime and here I am, screaming at Rachel in that moment, via my iPad, telling her she’s about to make a really grave mistake. So, thank you Cecilia, for telling her before she made an even bigger mistake.

ANYWAYS. I absolutely loved this book. I think what actually really made me love this book was the epilogue. Where Liane is all like “If only so and so actually knew this and that then that wouldn’t have actually happened” and all that… like WAY TO MESS WITH OUR BRAINS!!!!!!! If you’ve read the book but haven’t read the epilogue, do so right now. Seriously it will make you think like you’ve never thought before. And you might actually end up hating how things happened when they could have happened differently. If only they had just known. Haha. That sentence will only make sense if you read the book and the epilogue, trust me, I’m not crazy. (My mother had me tested – Sheldon)

While goodreads gives this book a 3.9 out of 5 rating, I give it definitely somewhere between 4,5 and 4.85. Why not.

Stop what you’re doing and read this book. Right now. You will not be disappointed. And if you are, don’t blame me.

Leave a Reply

