Behind Closed Doors

Image result for behind closed doors

Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

Goosebumps.

 

That’s basically all I can say. Goosebumps.

 

I don’t know if it’s my inexperience with psychological thriller books or if maybe I ate something before going to bed, or what… but the first night after starting this book, I woke up in the middle of the night drenched in sweat, crying, and thrashing about in the bed. Nightmare.

 

Prior to reading this book, the list of psychological thrillers I had read consisted of Gone Girl and The Girl On the Train. Neither of those were put on my Favorite Reads list. Not saying they were bad, just not my favorite by any means. Now this one was a completely different story (pun intended).

It all began on a slow Wednesday at work, I reached for the book I was reading and then I remembered, it won’t be where I’m trying to grab it from, in fact, it’s at home on my bedside table. What was I going to do?! Work was so slow, everyone else around me was drinking their coffee and reading their books, and here I was, coffee in hand and no book. So I took to Goodreads and Amazon to scour for a book that looked even remotely interesting. I must’ve read the description of about 7 books before I settled on Behind Closed Doors. I hit “Buy Now with 1-Click” and downloaded it to my phone. Guys, I even used phone data to do this, that’s how desperate I was. Boy was that money well spent and data well used. I was only on page 3 when I knew this was going to be a book I would not be able to put down, which is kind of not the best book to be reading at work seeing that I will get constantly interrupted and have to put it down. I was so enthralled in this book that I found myself getting mad at the clients I had on the phone… You’re disrupting my reading, why did you have to call RIGHT NOW? Don’t you have better things to do on a Wednesday afternoon, like work, maybe?! Pot, meet Kettle. Anyways. That night I did not go home and binge watch Shameless. In fact, it took all I had not to read it on my drive home.. No, I didn’t actually consider doing that. I went home, made an entire pot of coffee, and read. For hours.

 

Now for the actual review…

**SPOILER ALERT**

 

Right from the beginning, the author hints at there being something wrong between the couple. Little do we know the extent of what’s actually going on with them. The way she has to have everything done perfectly for him so he won’t get upset, or her hinting at the fact that she won’t be making the lunch plans that have just been planned… I don’t know about you, but I was definitely not expecting this. This level of emotional abuse…

 

When they go to Thailand for their honeymoon and he tells her everything about himself and how bad it will be for her if she tries to escape and the level of thinking ahead that he did.. (does that even make sense, is it even english??) My dream was based on that part of the book. I too was locked on a balcony, being held captive by 3 men, waiting for my mom to come pick me up and she was late, as usual, and I remember being mad at her and almost blaming her for what was happening to me. But then I remember thinking I was glad that she wasn’t there because I didn’t want them to get her too. I called in sick to work as soon as I woke up from it. 2 am and I called in sick. There was just no way I could function talking to people.

 

I particularly enjoyed the fact that the author made the main character’s sister have Down’s Syndrome. I loved it, actually. How smart she was, when she gave Grace the sleeping pills, I cried actual tears. She actually thought weeks in advance to pretend that she had trouble sleeping in order to get the pills to stash away to eventually give Grace. WOW. I can’t even tell you how much I enjoyed that.

 

There’s really not much more I can say about this book, other than, READ IT, if you haven’t. I can’t recommend it enough. I want everyone to stop what they’re doing and read it right away. So damn good. Then let me know what you think about it.

Leave a Reply

